



OUR WATER STORY, IS YOUR WATER STORY

15 December 2023

Media Release

Gladstone Area Water Board appoints new Board member

The Queensland Government has appointed Mr Mitchell Petrie as a Director to the Board of Gladstone Area Water Board (GAWB) for a three-year term commencing 8 December 2023. Mr Petrie replaces outgoing Board member Professor Poh-Ling Tan.

Mr Petrie is a former partner of KPMG Australia and is an experienced director.

He has significant experience in corporate governance and enterprise risk management, board advisory, internal controls, statutory financial reporting as well as governance and risk for major capital projects.

Gladstone Area Water Board Chair, Ms Adrienne Ward, thanked Professor Tan for her years of service to the Board.

"Professor Tan's knowledge and expertise has been of significant value to the organisation and has been integral to the growth of the governance of the organisation.

"We thank her for her service to GAWB, our customers, community and stakeholders".

Gladstone Area Water Board CEO Darren Barlow acknowledged Mr Petrie's expertise and the experience he will bring to the Board.

"Mr Petrie joins the Board at a time when significant projects such as the Fitzroy to Gladstone Pipeline are set to double our asset base and considerably expand the business.

"GAWB looks forward to working with Mr Petrie and leveraging his knowledge across the industry," said Mr Barlow.

In accordance with the Water Act 2003 (QLD), Directors are appointed for a term of three year. The continuing members of the GAWB Board are Ms Suzanne Burow, Mr Peter Masters and Ms Tina Zawila.

For more information about Gladstone Area Water Board please visit www.gawb.gld.gov.au

Ends

For media enquiries, please contact Peta Leveritt-Baker on 0474 137 295 or email media@gawb.qld.gov.au

📞 (07) 4976 3000 / (07) 4979 2125

💡 🛛 Gladstone Office: 136 Goondoon St, Gladstone

🔀 gawb@gawb.qld.gov.au

PO Box 466, Gladstone QLD 4680

GAWB.QLD.GOV.AU



OUR WATER STORY, IS YOUR WATER STORY